winetoremember

Just another WordPress.com site

Surprising Wines

leave a comment »

I have been constantly seeking out wines from unexpected places, sometimes hoping I can be surprised, other times just to try something others will turn there noses up at.  Possibly some of the most shocking places from which I have had wines, were from Lebanon and Turkey.  I have also had a few different wines from Greece too.  Some of my favorite wines have been from places in Spain other than their more highly known Rioja region.

 

These wines though, while they are occasionally very good, can often than not be insipid, horribly off balance.  But mostly they fall somewhere in the middle.   Spain has been notably exceptional in my mind.  Greece I feel could easily improve, and while it is already producing some great wines, I feel it could easily produce many more of that quality.

 

Lebanon and Turkey were really shocking.  Being as they come from predominantly Muslim countries in which they have a much different world view upon alcohol than Western Europe and the America’s.  As such I never really expect to find alcohol sold by countries that view it so poorly, even though Turkey is Much more westernized than other parts of the near east, and I honestly am not informed enough on foreign politics to know Lebanon’s views of the western world.  But both of these have produced some good wine, even though it was entirely unexpected.

Written by winetoremember

June 15, 2011 at 11:00 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

